87 cavalier wagon questions

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

__CHI__

Low Life
Reaction score
Alright,so I’ve changed my mind about 50 times with this car so far. I was gonna put a 5.3 from an impala in it then changed my mind,was gonna rat it out with a 427 and changed my mind..now I’m just gonna derby it lol
Does anyone know anything at all about the first gen J bodies? Or the 2.0 that came in them? Trying to beef up the suspension and engine,so far all I know is the rear ends love to go down lol

Erik the Awful

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Back when I was a beginning mechanic, many of my friends had Cavaliers. After repairing way too many of them, the mantra was "Friends don't let friends drive Cavaliers."

The only nice Cavalier I've ever seen was owned by one of the guys I went through Nissan school with. He'd owned it since new and it had over 250k miles on it. He maintained it religiously, and only used AC Delco parts on it.

I think the only decent reason to not scrap it would be if you were trying to win a trophy at Radwood or Concours de Lemons.

__CHI__

Low Life
Reaction score
Alright so the idea changed again..I have a 91 s10 that’s rotting away body wise,so I’m gonna rip the doghouse,cab and bed off,put the cavalier on the s10 frame,body it,channel it,bag it,most likely throw the 427 in it and rake the top with a big canvas sunroof. Gonna pretty much make a “modern” rat rod. My goal is to have it laying body and frame while aired out,also gonna bring the wheels outside of the fenders. It’s gonna take forever but I think I can safely say,I’m the only person dumb enough to waste the time and money to build a cavalier wagon lmao

90 Silverado

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
You must be registered for see images attach
I'm a JBody owner, JBody .org member and a JBody International Facebook member.