8.1 vortec l18 / nv4500 swap. lean mode ?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Reaction score
Hey all, forgive me if this was posted in the wrong area, this is my first time visiting the site as a member.
I'm looking for info on a " lean mode" that I've heard is actuated by the fifth gear in the nv4500.
I have a 1990 k3500 that came originally with a tbi 454 with a hydraulic sm465. I recently swapped in a 94 nv4500 sucussfully and am now setting my sights on swapping in my recently acquired 8.1 vortec. I am still in the market for a stand alone harness and ecu for the swap.

My questions:
Did the vortec 8100 have a lean mode?
Is there a lean mode controlled by the ecu or did I get misinformation?
What controls the lean mode actuation?
What model years had this lean mode
Incorporated?
What can be done to make my cruise control work with the newer ecu?
Any insight into the topic would help. Thanks

Supercharged111

Truly Awesome
Reaction score
You're referring to lean cruise and I don't think it's gear dependent. It takes some trickery to engage it as the PCM needs to think it's a non-US truck because of emissions.

RichLo

E I E I O
Reaction score
Im no expert in this but hopefully one of the 411 swap guys can chime in on this. In the mean time though do some searching on '411 ECU swap' this is the go-to computer swap for doing these types of things for the average guy without an electrical engineering degree.

someotherguy

Truly Awesome
Reaction score
Dunno about the 8.1 having this, but the much older GMT400's equipped with the SM465 4-speed have their own version of that transmission where the top cover is aluminum instead of the older model cast iron, and has a switch mounted that enables a lean cruise mode when in 4th gear. I wonder if that's what you heard about?