600 dollar S10 project

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

LUDLOW

Reaction score
So earlier this year I had gotten really interested in doing a V8 S10 swap, watched a few build series, read some build threads, and convinced myself I could get this done with minimal time and effort despite being a total novice. so I purchased a 2.2 5 speed S10 with the intention of bolting the V8 to that transmission, of course this is a terrible idea and if I had properly researched this I would have waited to find a 4.3 5 speed S10 or sonoma with the beefier NV3500 transmission used in full size GM trucks with V8s.

regardless the deal was done so I had to source my transmission elsewhere and focus on my engine while making this truck less ugly.
You must be registered for see images attach

although this was a questionable purchase, the truck is actually pretty solid. very minor rust, runs good, shifts good, stops, only 125K on the odometer. just not very easy to look at :p

Last edited:

LUDLOW

Reaction score
after driving it 50 miles home, I was honestly embarrassed. so the SUV sized car cover was quickly draped over it.
now the goal was to fix up the appearance without going over budget since I still had to buy a motor, transmission, accessories, and all of the V8 swap specific parts. so I started dismantling the truck and prepping it for paint.

LUDLOW

Reaction score

while it was mostly apart I started cleaning up the frame and painting it, also ordered a 2 - 3 inch lowering kit.

after the steering knuckles were installed and the frame was painted I started working my way back, sanding and painting as I go.

LUDLOW

Reaction score

new shocks and lowering blocks :p

Stumpy

Heavy Chevy
Reaction score
Looking good so far. Hope you're considering some Caltracs or something. That 3 leaf spring pack, is going to wrap, and hop like crazy.