4.3 Vortec idle issue

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Figuarus

Reaction score
Hey guys.

Newbie here. Was told this is the place to get help with my 96 C1500.

It's a 4.3L with 5spd. Reg cab, Longbed, 2wd.

Engine is bone stock.

I bought this truck about 2 years ago. It's been great, but have noticed a few issues that I have never gotten around to trying to diagnose. That being said, i figured I should trying fixing them one at a time.

SO, First this return to idle/high idle mystery.

When I drive this truck to work, (everyday) I have an issue where the engine rpms will not return to idle unless the truck is stopped. I know that sometimes happens in situations where the engine is cold and what not, but this happens no matter the outside temp, or the operating temp.

I should take a video to help visualize this, but I dont have a safe way of doing this, so text explanation will have to suffice for now.

When shifting gears, up, the rpms, stay at roughly the same rate as they were before I move to another gear. Not really a problem here, but when I downshift, it's more of an issue.
I might downshift to third or second, and the engine rpm hovers around 1400 to 1600. This happens even though i'm coasting in neutral, and whether the clutch pedal is pressed or released.
Only when I come to a near stop, do the rpms finally drop under 1k.

Hopefully that made sense.

I have checked for damaged cables, cleaned the thottle body, checked for vacuum leaks (using the old spray can method) and nothing has really helped.

So, I come to you guys. What should I check or do next?

And, yes, I have looked for CEL codes, and there isnt anything in memory or pending.

HotWheelsBurban

Gotta have 4 doors..... Rawhide, TOTY 2023!
Reaction score