2000 L29 454 Build

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Reaction score
This is my first post here.
The Truck this motor will be going into is my 1998 Chevy K3500 Crew Cab Dually with 140k miles. The 454 that's in it is full of sludge and the oil and oil filter always has metal flakes in it. I've been driving it like this for 7 years, the metal in the oil is getting really bad and the motor has developed a tick. Last oil change had small metal chunks in it. Its time for a fresh build.

I got a L29 454 from a 2000 Express van from a junk yard for 800 Dollars.
I plan on doing a full rebuild to it and my goal is 400 plus horsepower. Preferably over 450 hp
I will be doing a 0411 PCM swap. From my understanding I should contact LexTech for a Pin out diagram.
Im also looking at getting JBA long tube headers and a EGR delete.
For the cam shaft I'm looking at the ZZ502 Cam. I just don't know what modifications I will have to do to the heads to make that cam work and will the stock valve train/rockers work with that Cam ?
I will be porting the heads, maybe even get the heads shaved to bump the compression.
I will be using the stock bottom end.

If anyone has any recommendations for what cam I should use and any mods that will help with power let me know.
Also not sure what fuel injectors I should be using for the power I want.

Attachments

• thumbnail_Image.jpg
    thumbnail_Image.jpg
    184.8 KB · Views: 10
  • thumbnail_Image (2).jpg
    thumbnail_Image (2).jpg
    191 KB · Views: 9
  • thumbnail_Image (1).jpg
    thumbnail_Image (1).jpg
    167.7 KB · Views: 9

Nick_R_23

I'm Awesome
Reaction score