1998 z71 stroker build

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Rowdy Texan

Reaction score
Hi this is my first time on this site , I am building a tow engine for my 1998 z71 and I would like to see if anyone has a similar power combo as mine and if so how, do you like how it performs and do you have any confirmed dyno numbers from it? Here is my build
5.7 vortec base with 383 stroker kit bored .030, 9.8-1 compression ,64cc vortec heads resurfaced, stock valves, beehive springs, full roller rockers w guide plates, comp cams xfi 210/218 cam. Advertised at 260/270, .565/.555 lift 113 lsa, stock intake and spider, re tuned with hp tuners, long tube 1 5/8” headers , 2.5 exhaust true duals no cats and glass packs, 3.42 gears 6 inch lift Firestone airbags with 285/55R 20s tires

Erik the Awful

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Unless you plan on towing at 5500+ rpm, full rollers aren't really worth it. Yeah, I put full rollers on my motor as well, but if I were to build it again, I'd go with stamped rockers instead. .565/.555 lift is too much, even with the beehives, unless you're going to cut down the valve guides. When I measured mine, I came up with a safe max of .530 lift, and I'm running .507/.515.

Rowdy Texan

Reaction score
Unless you plan on towing at 5500+ rpm, full rollers aren't really worth it. Yeah, I put full rollers on my motor as well, but if I were to build it again, I'd go with stamped rockers instead. .565/.555 lift is too much, even with the beehives, unless you're going to cut down the valve guides. When I measured mine, I came up with a safe max of .530 lift, and I'm running .507/.515.