1996 Chevrolet c3500HD CrewCab BEAST - Junkyard Rescue Take II

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

gstubbz

Hi I'm Gavin and I have an OBSession
Reaction score
Well it's facebook official, and if you are in the group for the GMT400s there is a good chance you saw the photo since I'm a like *****.

So......... it's mine. How did I get it? Partially because I broke the ice by selling him the other Junkyard Rescue 6.5 to this guy. I work on computers for a living, so I helped him by upgrading the RAM in his desktop to 16GB and his wife needed a laptop, so I gave them an immaculate 2008 MacBook Pro 15" that I had sitting around because I never use it (I'm an Apple guy all the way). And that was our deal. Computer for a gutted truck!

And welp, it's all mine. I'm not getting it out tomorrow or probably not for a few weeks. I need to make a winch mount and ramps for my new flatbed trailer before I even rescue this thing. Decided to call this the Junkyard Rescue II, since the original JR I ended up at the junkyard where I got this truck.

Some more details. It's a 1996, Built in Janesville, WI in February of 1996, had a 6.5L Turbo Diesel, still has a 4L80e transmission in it, 5.13 ratio rear Dana 80 with disc brakes (10 lug), crew cab, and a thick ass frame.

Now why did I want this massive ass project? Well one it's my first crew cab GMT400 ever, I have wanted one for years after everything I've owned was an extended cab, second, it has those badass Kodiak door handles, and third, the GVWR is 15,000 pounds. To put that in perspective your normal c/k3500 dually is rated at 10,000 GVWR. This is 5k more and essentially is an F450/F-Superduty of the 90s in Chevy land.