1994 350 TBI Running Super Rich!

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

pitzer86

Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm kind of new to the forum so here is what I got...
1994 K2500 Cheyenne 5.7 TBI
Engine is running really really rich. So rich that you smell like gas after you drive it! It doesn't miss and Idles really well for how much fuel its dumping. The power is really bad though. Doesn't really want to pull itself in overdrive. I'm a decent mechanic and have worked on these TBI engines quite a bit in the past but this one has me stumped. I have a snap-on Solus scanner so I checked the OBD1 live data while truck is running and warm and everything seems to be in spec. the coolant temperature sensor is operating as it should, O2 sensor is switching between .1 and .9 volts as it should, the MAP sensor is reading about 8-9 inches and voltage hovers around .9-1.9 at idle. IAC stepper motor is operating and Injectors are misting a fine conical shape of fuel and fuel pressure is running about 11psi. The fuel trim is showing 126 and I'm not sure if that is correct, I haven't been able to source what the correct spec for the fuel trim should be. I've been reading up on forums all over the internet and a tbi running rich seems to be a common occurrence but most seem to have a bad coolant sensor or MAP sensor but mine seems to functioning well as far as I can tell from the live data. Any help or information would be greatly appreciated as I don't to simply start throwing parts at the truck. Thanks in advance

AuroraGirl

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
The oxygen sensor "SHOULDNT" be switching if your truck is smelling like a gas spill

that means your sensor is reading a lot leaner than it is
that can be from a leaky exhaust to bad sensor
You must be registered for see images attach

OEM heated one on the left, high mileage, slow to react but it worked