180 Deg Thermostat

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

wb292

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
I live in a hot climate. It can reach 120 in the summer. If I install a 180 thermostat from 195 will the truck increase the fuel ratio trying to raise the water temp?

df2x4

4L60E Destroyer
Staff member
Super Moderator
Reaction score
I don't believe it will, but I'm no expert. That said, I have been told by several reputable sources that there's no benefit to installing a lower temp thermostat in these engines. In your situation I'd probably leave the thermostat alone and do some cheap cooling system upgrades like a severe duty fan clutch and the 11 blade fan swap (if your truck doesn't have the 11 blade already).

RichLo

E I E I O
Reaction score
Switching to a lower temp t-stat is usually done to band-aid an underlying problem. If your truck is overheating, even at 120* outside temp you should fix the underlying problem... switch to a better fan blade, flush the cooling system thoroughly and possibly upgrade to a larger radiator.

Engines run more efficient at higher temps, new cars that have electronically controlled thermostats can run in excess of 220 when cruising to increase fuel economy.

PlayingWithTBI

2022 Truck of the Year
Supporting Member
Reaction score
If I install a 180 thermostat from 195 will the truck increase the fuel ratio trying to raise the water temp
No it won't.

I live in AZ too and run a 194* T-stat. I had issues with my 88 5.7L overheating. After flushing, new water pump, T-stat, fan clutch, and then a 3 row aluminum radiator, I pulled the heads and found it had blown gaskets between cyls 3 & 5 and 4 & 6. Now it runs without overheating even with all kinds of upgrades including aluminum heads.

bobby v

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
No it won't.