Truck steering pretty loose

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

ukiltmybrutha

OBS Enthusiast
Reaction score
Central VA, DC Metro, NOVA (can they make up their
So I took her on her maiden voyage to the county dump and I was kind of scared. The steering seems slack especially when turning right.

I have issues with my brakes that I am working out to, so I am not sure if it is related to the spongy brake situation. (Problem happens when the brakes aren't being pressed though).

Since I am new to trucks, I was wondering if tie rod ends are like a cars. Can I simply jack the front wheels up one at a time and attempt to move the tire side to side?

If so, I have never seen play like this before. I am talking like 1 inch play in each direction.

If it could be tie rod ends, is it usually the outers that go bad and is it common for them to go bad on these trucks?

Is it a difficult job and can I count the turns to avoid an alignment?

Thanks for all!

Fobroader

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
Jack up the front end of the truck and wiggle the tires. Both on the horizontal and the vertical plane. Horizontal, steering system is buggered, vertical, your wheel bearings are shot. Also, open the hood, grab your steering shaft and see if there is any play in it, up and down and then when you rotate it. The tie rod ends are like any car.

ukiltmybrutha

OBS Enthusiast
Reaction score
Thank you! Up and down there are no issues. Side to side it's pretty rediculous. Could you clarify on the steering shaft? I am kind of thick lol. Do you mean the rack to the or the long part that connects to the rack from the steering wheel. Do the inners go bad often? Can I just jack up one wheel at a time or do I have to jack up the entire front end?