TBI to carb conversion?

Discussion in 'LSX + Carb Swaps' started by LML Duramax 95 Z71, Jun 12, 2016.

  1. LML Duramax 95 Z71

    LML Duramax 95 Z71 OBS Enthusiast

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2015
    Location:
    The good old US of A
    Alright I know there are several threads on this but none of them are that thorough and seem to turn into arguments over what parts are better so I'm making this one.

    Now, I'll start off by saying I don't know a whole lot about carburetors, but I've got a pretty decent understanding. I have a 1995 Z71. I'm not happy with the throttle body mainly because I just want something simple and mechanical that I can tune and adjust myself without a computer.

    So what I want to know is, what all is included in a carb swap? Besides the obvious being a carb, pressure regulator, intake manifold, TPS for trans. What are the steps? Basically I'd like someone who has actually done this conversion to walk me through the process and parts list so I can better consider my options here, thanks.
     
  2. 884x4310ci

    884x4310ci Newbie

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2016
    Location:
    miramichi N.B.
    Did my 88 last year.I did not have to deal with the electronic transmission. So I can't help you there. But I got a intake off of a 87-88 Monte Carlo. To get the correct bolt pattern. But there are aftermarket ones to.you are going to need a HEI distributor. Carb of choice around 600cfm.gasket kit.
    Again I did not go with electric fuel pump and regulator. I did a mechanical conversion. Ran my fuel line on the cross member and then down the passenger side.
    If you have any questions or concerns I can help you along.
     
  3. TylerZ281500

    TylerZ281500 Yukon Ridin High

    Age:
    23
    Messages:
    5,596
    Likes Received:
    56
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Location:
    Clinton Township, Michigan
    carb, pressure regulator, tps kit, rpm signal to the trans, intake, gaskets, basically it
     
  4. MarkZ28

    MarkZ28 Newbie

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Location:
    Grant, AL
    Anyone know the part number for the regulator needed for the swap using the factory supply/pressure side line?
     
  5. TylerZ281500

    TylerZ281500 Yukon Ridin High

    Age:
    23
    Messages:
    5,596
    Likes Received:
    56
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Location:
    Clinton Township, Michigan
    any return style regulator
     
  6. Muddybigblock

    Muddybigblock Newbie

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2016
    Location:
    indiana
    doing this on my 91 4l80e truck. having trouble with tach signal and ecm not communicating with a scan tool. any tips
     
  7. TylerZ281500

    TylerZ281500 Yukon Ridin High

    Age:
    23
    Messages:
    5,596
    Likes Received:
    56
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Location:
    Clinton Township, Michigan
    you need rpm signal and a proper grounding for the ecm to work, does the scan tool connect to the ecm at all? did you cut and mutilate the harness? my suggestion. putit back to tbi your gaining nothing going carb
     
  8. Muddybigblock

    Muddybigblock Newbie

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2016
    Location:
    indiana
    didn't hack anything the harness but it had been wrecked and set for many years with no hood on it the scan tool did connect but would not read anything from the ecm. and a tbi will not feed the 496 in it
     
  9. kkirwan71

    kkirwan71 women problems

    Messages:
    2,952
    Likes Received:
    367
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Location:
    Blades, Delaware
    Carb swap should eliminate the ecm iirc. You need a stand alone harness for the 80e I believe. And Mallory makes a return style regulator you need.

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk
     
  10. TylerZ281500

    TylerZ281500 Yukon Ridin High

    Age:
    23
    Messages:
    5,596
    Likes Received:
    56
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Location:
    Clinton Township, Michigan
    you can use the stock computer to run an 80e, if a computer controls it know yor wasting money buying something aftermarket on a drivetrain that wont warrant from it.
     
    kkirwan71 likes this.

Share This Page