New 99 'Burb

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Jesse82nc

The Burb
Reaction score
So I already have a 96 C1500 with just about everything I wanted to do to it done. But it is a 2WD.

Now I purchased a 99 Suburban K1500. So I am pretty new to the 4WD setup in the front. The truck is in pretty good shape, especially the engine. But the shocks are gone on it so they need to be replaced. I was going to go with the same Bilsteins I put on my pickup since they are great. But I went around and measured the wheel wells from the ground. The rear was 1.5" lower than the front, which I found strange. But maybe that is a 'Burb thing? I do have a full tank of gas in it currently, or maybe its just the shocks. Any ideas there?

Well anyway, I am looking to lift it just a bit. Nothing like my pickup. No Body Lifts, just something small suspension so I can put some slightly larger tires on it since it needs new tires asap. I would prefer to put some blocks on the rear since that is easier, but not opposed to an AAL either. For the front though, I am not sure what the best option for a 1-2" lift or so. And what the largest tires I could go with would be, without trimming anything more than just a little.

And yes, I know there are 1000 of these posts out there. But I just wanted to see what opinions people had for this.

I'll post some photos later today.

Jesse82nc

The Burb
Reaction score
You must be registered for see images attach

You must be registered for see images attach

Also, did all 'Burbs come with a 3rd row? Or was that an option?

Jesse82nc

The Burb
Reaction score
So I am pretty sure I am going to go with some Wrangler LT 265/75R16 tires on the factory rims. I checked the existing geometry and looks like everything is pretty straight right now. So I think I will try to crank it a little and gain an inch or so and check it again.