Less offset without a lift

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

TriGuy

Reaction score
I have a 92 K1500 that I want to slowly begin badassing up just a little bit. Right now I plan on doing a slight t-bar crank just to level, and then throwing on new wheels and tires. The wheels I plan on getting are a 16x8 with a 0mm offset, and the stock wheels are a 16x6.5 with a 50mm offset, meaning the new wheels should stick out 3" more than stock. I got to wondering, would this be harmful without a suspension lift? What would the effects be? Would a 6mm or 12mm offset be much better? I want to space my wheels out a bit more but don't want to hurt anything. Sorry if this seems like a stupid question but I'm somewhat new to the world of modified trucks.
EDIT: If it means anything, I plan on running 285/75s, and this would be stock backspacing of 5.72 in vs backspacing of 4.5 in for 0mm offset if it's better to compare the backspacing.

Last edited:

Emanuel

Reaction score
I have a 92 K1500 that I want to slowly begin badassing up just a little bit. Right now I plan on doing a slight t-bar crank just to level, and then throwing on new wheels and tires. The wheels I plan on getting are a 16x8 with a 0mm offset, and the stock wheels are a 16x6.5 with a 50mm offset, meaning the new wheels should stick out 3" more than stock. I got to wondering, would this be harmful without a suspension lift? What would the effects be? Would a 6mm or 12mm offset be much better? I want to space my wheels out a bit more but don't want to hurt anything. Sorry if this seems like a stupid question but I'm somewhat new to the world of modified trucks.
EDIT: If it means anything, I plan on running 285/75s, and this would be stock backspacing of 5.72 in vs backspacing of 4.5 in for 0mm offset if it's better to compare the backspacing.