Installing and correctly setting a vortec distributor

Discussion in '96+ Vortec Performance + Computer Swaps' started by Aloicious, Oct 28, 2011.

  1. Mangonesailor

    Mangonesailor I'm Awesome

    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    47
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    Location:
    Triad, NC
    Does what come with "the software?"

    This is Dash Command. This is the basic thing that you need.

    I confirmed a few months ago that you CAN use a standard ELM327 to read CMP retard... but Dash Command, so far, is the only app that can display it.
     
  2. chadimus06

    chadimus06 Newbie

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2016
    Location:
    Texas
    I was wondering if the OBDLink MX comes with the software
     
  3. Mangonesailor

    Mangonesailor I'm Awesome

    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    47
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    Location:
    Triad, NC
    Read this.
     
  4. chadimus06

    chadimus06 Newbie

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2016
    Location:
    Texas
    Thank you man. I guess I'm going to order it and give it a try this thursday. I'll post back on here with the results.
     
  5. Arcane

    Arcane I'm Awesome

    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Location:
    Between NJ, OR and RU
    I know that's an old thread, but i bought dash commarnd and enchanced pids for my year, but still i can't see cam or cmp retard pid.
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2017
  6. Mangonesailor

    Mangonesailor I'm Awesome

    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    47
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    Location:
    Triad, NC
    Sooooooo, what Bluetooth dongle are you using? Have you emailed dash command? They're pretty good about getting back to you about issues as long as you keep some good logs.

    They helped me out quickly with my trucks lack of an IAC reading. You could try using my truck's year and 2500 weight class and see if it works. Delete the old car profile first, turn off the app, open it, and create the new car. It's worth a shot.
     
  7. east302

    east302 I'm Awesome

    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    125
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2013
    Location:
    Jackson, MS
    Yeah, try contacting DashCommand. I had no issues with mine (1998) but have seen where others have had the same experience as you.

    I used a BAFX model 34t5 OBD adapter.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  8. TKerr

    TKerr Newbie

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Location:
    Clear Lake, Texas
    The Snap-on Solaris can. That is what I have and use.
     

Share This Page