Installing and correctly setting a vortec distributor

Discussion in '96+ Vortec Performance + Computer Swaps' started by Aloicious, Oct 28, 2011.

  1. Aloicious

    Aloicious Hired Goon

    Messages:
    2,099
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Location:
    UT
    I wrote this article about setting a vortec distributor and thought it might be useful for y'all. I wrote it and coded the page on the tail end of a 14 hour graveyard shift, so let me know if you find something that needs correction, my brain starts to get fried at those hours.

    http://www.gmtruckcentral.com/articles/distributor.html
     
    1 person likes this.
  2. dale_gribble

    dale_gribble I'm Awesome

    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Super, super job! I am going to see if my Innovate Motorsports OT-1 reads CMP Retard Offset. I am going to use your instructions soon.
     
  3. Aloicious

    Aloicious Hired Goon

    Messages:
    2,099
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Location:
    UT
    Thanks, let me know if it does, the only ones I know that do are EFILive and the TECH2, and I think one of the versions of autoxray can as well, I've heard one of the snapon scanners can too, but I'm not sure which one.
     
  4. tvrc18

    tvrc18 Newbie

    Age:
    60
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Looks like you are pointing to the six mark and not the eight on the housing.
     
  5. Aloicious

    Aloicious Hired Goon

    Messages:
    2,099
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Location:
    UT
    it's showing how to align the marks before installing so that when the distributor seats, the rotor will rotate to the correct point.
     
  6. Mrich0908

    Mrich0908 Pshhhhttttt!

    Age:
    34
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    29
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Location:
    Waterbury ,CT
    Do any of you like running advanced timing. I know back in my Mustang days when I was much younger I would run my timing advanced and picked up plenty of power. Most of my car Ive always bought I would run the timing just little bit advanced.
    Does any one know a good number to run on 93 octane with out the motor pinging?

    Also you dont have to spend hundreds for a live scanner. If you own an Android phone you can buy a Bluetooth scanner. Down load a app that allows you to Read live Data Clear codes ECT.. They go from 15-30$
    Its
    Mini ELM327 V1.5 Bluetooth look for (Ebay). As far as the app im at a loss but look in the market its there and if you resourceful there are ways of obtaining it for free.
    This will work with Android Phones and tablets.
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2012
  7. Aloicious

    Aloicious Hired Goon

    Messages:
    2,099
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Location:
    UT
    you can NOT run timing advance at the distributor on a computer controlled L31 engine, like you could in older engines. the timing advance is completely computer controlled. you need to set the distributor at 0* +- 2* for proper operation, you can change the timing in the PCM with a tune if you have the hardware/software to do so...

    also I highly doubt that any phone app will be able to read the CMP offset, its a very specialized GM only sensor that was only used for a few years, there are only a few scanners/loggers that I know of that can read it, the usual run of the mill live data code reader usually doesn't support it. if you have the app and it does allow logging of the CMP offset, let us know, that would be very helpful.
     
  8. TruckinAin4Sissies

    TruckinAin4Sissies L.E.D. Whisperer

    Messages:
    2,633
    Likes Received:
    43
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Location:
    In a Big-Rig
    Is this what you're talking about?
    [​IMG]

    Yes, I DO know I'm ~+28° advanced

    Device: INC2
    ROM: CyanogenMod-9
    OS: Android 4.1
     
  9. Aloicious

    Aloicious Hired Goon

    Messages:
    2,099
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Location:
    UT
    I'm not sure, I don't have a smart phone but that looks like what he was mentioning....does it read the CMP offset?
     
  10. TruckinAin4Sissies

    TruckinAin4Sissies L.E.D. Whisperer

    Messages:
    2,633
    Likes Received:
    43
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Location:
    In a Big-Rig
    I'm assuming CMP is Cam. Offset correct?
    It shows current (live) timing value:
    [​IMG]

    Device: INC2
    ROM: CyanogenMod-9
    OS: Android 4.1
     

Share This Page