Installing a front drive shaft

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

GrownManChevy

Reaction score
Hey all, I recently picked up a 97 Z71 K1500 with the 4x4 on the floor. I purchased the truck without a front drive shaft and I plan on going down to the LKQ to pick one. This is my first time attempting something like this and I want to know of any major issues I could run into. I've been told to make sure the diff gearings match but outside of that I am clueless.
Can I simply remove a front shaft off of the donor, get a new u joint and hook it up to my truck? Is there any balancing or orientation issues I need to look out for? Thank you very much for any insight.

flintlock

Reaction score
I swapped out mine on my 97 when it went bad on me in just a few minutes. I didn't even replace the ujoints. It takes a little sweet talking but overall fairly easy installation.

GrownManChevy

Reaction score
I swapped out mine on my 97 when it went bad on me in just a few minutes. I didn't even replace the ujoints. It takes a little sweet talking but overall fairly easy installation.
So it is possible for the shaft to just go bad? That's good to know because I had the thought that maybe he was trying to hide some problem with the t-case or something by removing the shaft and selling it without it (he said the yoke went bad but who knows). I am a fairly competent DIY'er but most of my experience is with german cars, not so much with trucks.

All of the online write ups on replacing the drive shaft mentioned that I had to mark the one being removed and make sure it's the same orientation with the one I'm installing. Well since there is no shaft there currently, I didn't know if just slapping a new one in would cause issues.

grampadirt

On MEDICARE Officially Old
Reaction score