How much did you spend/ how long did it take for your lift kit install?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Jason

Reaction score
Hey guys I'm really curious about lift kits.. I wanna lift my 95 silverado really bad, but I'm a fry cook at long john silvers, (just got a second job at costco too, not many hours), and im going to college. so i know saving up for a lift kit is going to take a while, plus all my friends say 'dude that'd be such a waste of money', but its something I really would love to do.. depdning on price and time.

My 33" mickey thompson tires are balding really bad, and i need to get new ones, but i dont wanna get new ones if i plan on lifting it one day, and end up going bigger!!

basically heres what i'd like to know:

1. How much did it cost to lift your truck?
(not the cost of the kit.. EVERYTHING, like stuff you werent prepared for, roadblocks etc.)

2. Did you install it yourself or have a shop do it?? whats recommended?

3. How long was your truck out of commission for? a day, two, a month?

I know the answers will vary, but i just wanna get an idea. thanks guys!!
(p.s. im looking for maybe a 6inch suspension, 3 inch body roughly)

98crewcab

Reaction score
my last truck had a RCD 6" lift installed. researched it and just felt more comfortable letting a shop handle the ifs front end. Bought the lift for $1500, and they charged $600 to install it. they did everything from the lift, included lengthened steel braided brake lines, lengthened the drivelines, and aligned it. picked it up 2 days later and drove straight to les shwab!!! threw on some 38's (also had 3" body lift.....dont do it. regret it) and save the hassle. I think next time I will save money and do a straight axle conversion. can be done cheaper than what I paid for the lift alone. and alot flex'ier....

dirtyhick42

I am not a chick