Header questions

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

wonslung

Reaction score
I have a 94 5.0 tbi. I am looking to do a dual exaust soon. I was wondering what people think the best "bang for your buck" shorty headers are.

I am pretty new to working on cars but I've learned a ton on this truck. It's my understanding that if I get shorty headers they should mount right up to the current exaust system. I know it probably won't make a ton of difference until I actually upgrade the exhaust system but anything I can do myself will save me money.

df2x4

4L60E Destroyer
Staff member
Super Moderator
Reaction score
Depends on what you want out of them. Want them to look pretty and/or last forever? Spend the $5-600 on some nice stainless JBA or Gibson shorties. Want them to just work, and don't care about them rusting up? Get some $180 Pacesetters or Summit brand painted shorties and call it a day.

wonslung

Reaction score
Depends on what you want out of them. Want them to look pretty and/or last forever? Spend the $5-600 on some nice stainless JBA or Gibson shorties. Want them to just work, and don't care about them rusting up? Get some $180 Pacesetters or Summit brand painted shorties and call it a day.

I want them to last but I don't particularly care how they look. I'm on the fence whether or not to get shorties or long tube. I intend to do a full exhaust system so I may just wait and do long tubes. Either way I want them to last as long as possible. It's a 3rd generation truck and I'd like to pass it on to my kids if I have any (or my brothers kids if I don't$

superdave

Proud NOOA Member
Reaction score
Last edited:

wonslung

Reaction score
I went to a local exhaust shop and they won't put a dual exhaust on. They said it's illegal. I called another couple places and it seems to be the case