flowmaster 10 series.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

6chevy9

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
alright i got a flowmaster 10 what have people heard? i plan to put it on my current exhaust before i go to true duals to make sure its not going to be too loud. i already have the tail pipe/ tips figured out and ordered. and have a plan but would like opinions on the muffler forward part. my plan is to make everything stainless ( i know the mufflers wont be ) im building an h pipe and replacing my y pipe with 2.5" all the way to the manifolds. any suggestion on how close to the mufflers the H pipe should be? i have never ran an H on anything with true duals. should i make an X pipe instead? i plan to make the cross over in between the h about 5 inches or so across, is that too short? any suggestions pros cons likes dislikes arguing is welcome tear it up i like ideas! just remeber i already have the tips and tail pipes so i dont need advice on that they arent going back!

Greg

Über Mod
Supporting Member
Reaction score
From what I've seen between the H-pipes and X-pipes, the H-pipes are up closer to the cats, and the X-pipes are farther back by the muffler. I'm not sure why this is, but on most of the trucks that I have had a chance to take a look under, this is the case.

Thinking about from a physics aspect, I think X helps balance the flow, and H helps balance the pressure, but I also don't know much about exhaust.

X pipe - distance between the two pipes are about 2 inches.
H-pipe - I've seen as much as up to 5 inches but most are only a few inches.

Last edited:

noremac

OHHH SNNNAAAPPP
Reaction score
from what i understand from a bit of reading... x-pipes are better for torque numbers, and H pipes are better for horsepower.... but i may have that backwards

Greg

Über Mod
Supporting Member
Reaction score