Cali legal exhaust help

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Solid94

Chevy Ridin' High
Reaction score
So I have a Flowmaster 40 series exhaust an that's about it. I want to run some headers and a better exhaust set up dice I'm rolling 38 inch procomps. Does anyone have any ideas on a set up I could run. I live in California and smog is strict. I found the edlebrock smog legal headers but wants to hear some feedback. Thanks.

bggrnchvy

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
So I have a Flowmaster 40 series exhaust an that's about it. I want to run some headers and a better exhaust set up dice I'm rolling 38 inch procomps. Does anyone have any ideas on a set up I could run. I live in California and smog is strict. I found the edlebrock smog legal headers but wants to hear some feedback. Thanks.

If you change anything from the cats forward, you need a CARB number. If you have one, you're fine, if not you're screwed.

I could never bring myself to drop the kind of money required to get a set of Thorley's to replace the bricks on my L31.

That said I've heard alot of good about Doug Thorley's mid lengths. They're SMOG legal, but they're also ~$800 new with the necesary tubing to the cats.

miles5241

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
find someone who lives in a state has no smog restrictions transfer the title to them and pay tabs have them send them to you when necessary...far as i know that works till you get caught

Solid94

Chevy Ridin' High
Reaction score
Thanks I'll check into those Doug Thorley's. I'd have a hard time throwing that much down on them as well. I just want a little more power for my tires without spending a fortune.

///RAGMC

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
I have a set off SS Ebay headers Edelbrock Y pipe cat and Magnaflow muffler and dont have any problems with smog

miles5241

I'm Awesome
Reaction score