5.7L Vortec Injector housing and Manifold

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Reaction score
5.7L Vortec SFI

Hello everyone,
I am new to this forum and have a simple (but probably stupid) question.

Problem: Few days ago my truck started idling funny while i was sitting at a red light and i began to hear air hissing..so right away i think "vacuum line. I searched for this apparent disconnected vacuum line and found nothing...after further searching i noticed that my fuel injector housing (spider injector) has dropped into the intake manifold. I took everything apart and removed the manifold and injector housing, Bought all new gaskets and got ready to put everything back together. I am not very "mechanically" inclined..but i do know how to turn a wrench..My profession is body repair.

Question: How does the injector housing attach to the manifold? It looks as if it should be 'pressed' into the manifold, but by looking at it..i cant seem to find out how it would have came out of the manifold if it is pressed. There is no damage at all (except a ripped gasket). Should there be something holding it in place? There just seems to be WAY to much vacuum pressure for it to just sit there..

The only diagrams i can find show an "exploded" version of the manifold and i dont seem to be missing any parts that i can see..

Lextech

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
There is a steel bracket inside the manifold that holds the injector half of the connector. That bracket is pretty tough--I wouldn't think it got bent. The seal on the connector half is a snug fit into the upper plenum. Put some lube on the seal and while positioning the upper plenum back onto the lower manifold--wiggle and pull up on the connector to get it to "seat" into the upper plenum. Then, bolt the upper plenum to the lower manifold.

Jeff

Reaction score