4L60E Transmission Rebuild

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Schimpfy

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
Hey, all. My transmission finally bit it last night: lost 2nd, 4th and reverse (I heard the sun shell give out o_O). Now I'm looking at a rebuild. I've never done this before, but I am mechanically inclined so while it will take a bit longer I'm confident I can manage to get my truck back up and running. With that said, I'm looking at what parts I'll need. So far this is my list:

Hughes Rebuild Kit https://www.summitracing.com/parts/hup-hp3789
Sonnax Sun Shell https://www.summitracing.com/parts/sox-77749-02k

Aside from fluid is there anything else I may need? I'll also be replacing the torque converter and flexplate (some teeth are gone, so why not?) The kit looks pretty complete, but like I said - I've never done this before.

Thanks in advance for any advice. :)

rhino

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
I would add a Pressure Control Solenoid, 2- shift solenoids, Vette Servo, 3/4 Molded Apply Piston, and maybe an Input Sprag. It wouldn't be that more expensive to hit those problem areas now rather than later. Oh I just saw it is a 99, For sure put something for the TCC regulator valve. They are the devil. Several companies make a valve for that.

Schimpfy

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
Thanks for the info.