4L60E filter condition

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

solaralexx

Reaction score
I have a new to me 97 Tahoe with 107k miles, 4x4 with auxiliary oil cooler. The 4L60E was way overfilled when I got it (although the dipstick level is behaving weirdly). Today I dropped the pan to change the fluid and filter and below is what I found.

This is my first time opening a transmission, so I'm wondering how you guys would judge this, and whether or not I need to start budgeting for a new trans soon!

Old filter opened: one big chunk and some small shavings
You must be registered for see images attach

Close up on big chunk:

Close up on shavings:

Magnet in pan has lots of dust:

NickTransmissions

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I have a new to me 97 Tahoe with 107k miles, 4x4 with auxiliary oil cooler. The 4L60E was way overfilled when I got it (although the dipstick level is behaving weirdly). Today I dropped the pan to change the fluid and filter and below is what I found.

This is my first time opening a transmission, so I'm wondering how you guys would judge this, and whether or not I need to start budgeting for a new trans soon!

Old filter opened: one big chunk and some small shavings

Close up on big chunk:

Close up on shavings:

Magnet in pan has lots of dust:
The larger fragment looks like a piece of the rear sun gear; smaller stuff could also be gear train parts.

Id start planning for a rebuild based on those things.

NickTransmissions

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Thanks for the ID, ok I’ll start saving