20 Questions...

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Jim's 72

Reaction score
Yes, I'm a newbie with alot of questions...what a surprise lol.
To make a long story short, I have a 99 tahoe 4 door 4wd.
I have the golden opportunity to pick up an 01 2500hd with the 6.0 for 500 bucks. It's a beat up utility body..which the body is basically junk at this point. The transmission was rebuilt about 2500 miles ago, the rear diff was done approx 8000 miles ago. It's currently being retired from service at my job. I know the engine will need a rebuild due to high oil consumption. But for 500 bucks to get everything...ecms..harnesses...the works.....got the wheels turning.
Now, I'm not shy about cutting/ welding/ generally making stuff work. The computer stuff...well....not horrible, but not my strongest talent lol.
I'm even thinking about somehow using the brake system cause the soft pedal makes me crazy
And of course, I don't want a hack job putting it all together. I want to have everything function as it should.
So..to those that have done this..thought about doing this...what do you think...am I totally nutz?? Opinions and experience more then welcome..call this one of my research tools lol
Thanks
Jim :uhoh2:

frito-bandito

8 Lugs + 6 Tires + 4 Doors
Reaction score
Welcome to the site, search around some and you'll find quite a few threads that'll get you going in the right direction. Also, add pics!!!

bai78

Surviving...
Reaction score
As long as you are not afraid to bust it out on this project, go for it. As you said the best part is you have the complete & running donor truck at your disposal. Just shooting from the hip, 98% of us will never have that "golden opportunity".